Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

(Tibor Kolley)
(Tibor Kolley)

Ontario cabinet minister Sandra Pupatello not seeking re-election Add to ...

A veteran Ontario cabinet minister has joined the growing list of Liberals who will not seek re-election in October's provincial election.

A spokeswoman for Premier Dalton McGuinty confirms Sandra Pupatello, the minister of economic development and trade, has told her riding association she will not run again.

Ms. Pupatello represents the riding of Windsor West.

She was first elected to the legislature in 1995, re-elected in 1999, 2003 and 2007, and was first appointed to cabinet after the Liberal victory in 2003.

Other Liberals who have decided not to run this fall include former cabinet ministers Gerry Phillips and David Ramsay, Speaker Steve Peters, government house leader Monique Smith, and backbenchers Pat Hoy, Jim Brownell, Wayne Arthurs and Marc Lalonde.

Four Progressive Conservatives and New Democrat Peter Kormos have also announced they are not seeking re-election Oct. 6.

Report Typo/Error

Follow us on Twitter: @GlobePolitics

Next story




Most popular videos »

More from The Globe and Mail

Most popular