Skip to main content
bureau blog

In an apparent bid to refocus amid dismal poll numbers, Prime Minister Stephen Harper's piano coup and reports of potential floor-crossing, Liberal Leader Michael Ignatieff is expanding his shadow cabinet.

* * * * * *

For Immediate Release

October 6, 2009

Michael Ignatieff announces critic shuffle

OTTAWA - Liberal Leader Michael Ignatieff today announced a new and expanded team of Opposition Critics to better reflect a growing focus on government ethics and health, while adding additional capacity to probe economic issues.

"Our new line-up represents the wealth of talent and diversity in the Liberal caucus," said Mr. Ignatieff. "Every day, our team will fight to expose Conservative failures and hold this government to account."

The new critic line-up adds new portfolios for Public Health, Government Ethics, Crown Corporations and Small Business. Half of the newly appointed critics are women, bringing the overall percentage of women in critic roles to 31 per cent.

Mr. Ignatieff has asked ten MPs to take up new critic positions. They are:

• Navdeep Bains - Small Business and Tourism

• Siobhan Coady - Treasury Board

• Bonnie Crombie - Crown Corporations

• Ujjal Dosanjh - National Defense

• Kirsty Duncan - Public Health

• Marlene Jennings - Government Ethics and Democratic Reform

• Derek Lee - National Revenue

• Joyce Murray - Amateur Sport and Vancouver Olympics

• Robert Oliphant - Veterans Affairs

• Justin Trudeau - Youth and Multiculturalism

Marcel Proulx was also named Associate Critic, National Defense.

Mr. Ignatieff also appointed several new special advisors:

• Ruby Dhalla - Child Poverty

• Mario Silva - Latin America

• Bryon Wilfert - Asia Pacific

• Borys Wrzesnewskyj - Emerging Democracies

Yasmin Ratansi was also nominated the new Chair of the Government Operations Committee.



Press Office

Office of the Leader of the Opposition



Liberal Opposition Critics

Larry Bagnell: Arctic Issues and Northern Development

Navdeep Bains: Small Business and Tourism

Carolyn Bennett: Health

Maurizio Bevilacqua: Citizenship and Immigration

Scott Brison: International Trade

Gerry Byrne: Fisheries and Oceans

Siobhan Coady: Treasury Board

Bonnie Crombie: Crown Corporations

Jean-Claude D'Amours: Atlantic Gateway and ACOA

Sukh Dhaliwal: Asia-Pacific Gateway, and WED

Ujjal Dosanjh: National Defence

Kirsty Duncan: Public Health

Wayne Easter: Agriculture, Agrifood, Wheat Board

Raymonde Folco: Francophonie

Marc Garneau: Industry Science and Technology

Martha Hall Findlay: Public Works and Government Services Canada

Mark Holland: Public Safety and National Security

Marlene Jennings: Government Ethics and Democratic Reform

Gerard Kennedy: Infrastructure, Cities and Communities

Dominic LeblancL: Justice and Attorney General

Derek Lee: National Revenue

John McCallum: Finance

David McGuinty: Environment and Energy

Dan McTeague: Consular Affairs, Consumer Affairs

Alexandra Mendes: Economic Development Agency for Regions for Quebec

Maria Minna: Labour

Joyce Murray: Amateur Sport and Vancouver Olympics

Anita Neville: Status of Women

Rob Oliphant: Veterans Affairs

Glen Pearson: International Cooperation

Bob Rae: Foreign Affairs

Geoff Regan: Natural Resources

Pablo Rodriguez: Canadian Heritage and Official Languages

Todd Russell: Aboriginal Affairs

Michael Savage: Human Resources and Skills Development

Judy Sgro: Seniors and Pensions

Justin Trudeau: Youth and Multiculturalism

Frank Valeriote: Southern Ontario Development Agency

Joe Volpe: Transport