Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

The full list of Ontario Premier Wynne’s new cabinet

Kathleen Wynne and Lieutenant Governor David Onley just before her swearing-in as Ontario Premier on Feb. 11, 2013.

Peter Power/The Globe and Mail

There are ten newcomers in Premier Kathleen Wynne's 27-member cabinet, including Guelph's Liz Sandals who takes on the politically sensitive education portfolio. Other new ministers include:

  • Peterborough’s Jeff Leal in the new Ministry of Rural Affairs
  • David Orazietti of Sault Ste Marie becomes Minister of Natural Resources
  • David Zimmer of Toronto takes on the stand alone Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs
  • Reza Moridi of Richmond Hill is the Minister of Research and Innovation
  • Ottawa’s Yasir Naqvi, the Liberal party president, is also Minister of Labour
  • Toronto’s Michael Coteau becomes Minister of Citizenship and Immigration
  • Tracy MacCharles of Scarborough is Minister of Consumer Services
  • Windsor’s Teresa Piruzza is Minister of Children and Youth Services
  • and Mario Sergio of Toronto becomes Minister Responsible for Seniors.

Liberal cabinet ministers moved to other positions by Wynne include:

  • Premier Wynne herself as Agriculture Minister
  • Charles Sousa as Finance Minister
  • Ottawa’s Bob Chiraelli takes on Energy
  • Brad Duguid leaves energy to become Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities
  • Laurel Broten from education to Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs
  • Hamilton’s Ted McMeekin moves from agriculture to Community and Social Services
  • Linda Jeffrey takes on Municipal Affairs and Housing and is Chair of cabinet
  • Eric Hoskins moves to Economic Development, Trade and Employment
  • Glen Murray becomes Minister of Infrastructure and Minister of Transportation
  • Michael Gravel moves to Northern Development and Mines.

Ministers staying in their same positions include:

Story continues below advertisement

  • Health Minister Deb Matthews, who also becomes Deputy Premier.
  • Environment Minister Jim Bradley
  • Attorney General John Gerretsen
  • Community Safety and Correctional Services Minister Madeleine Meilleur, also responsible for Francophone Affairs
  • Government services Minister Harinder Takhar
  • Government House Leader John Milloy
  • Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport Michael Chan.
Report an error

The Globe invites you to share your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful to everyone. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.

We’ve made some technical updates to our commenting software. If you are experiencing any issues posting comments, simply log out and log back in.

Discussion loading… ✨