Skip to main content

Prime Minister Stephen Harper at a press conference in Berlin on Saturday.Adrian Wyld

Stephen Harper released the G20's invite list to next month's summit in Toronto, giving a seat to Ethiopia and Malawi for the first time.

In addition to the permanent list of 19 countries and the European Union, the host nation in consultation with the other G20 states can invite additional countries.

South Africa has been the only African nation to ever attend a G20 summit.

The special invitees for the June 26-27 Toronto summit are Ethiopia, Malawi, The Netherlands, Spain and Vietnam.

The summit will immediately follow a G8 summit in Muskoka June 25-26.

Mr. Harper is in Berlin today for a brief visit with German Chancellor Angela Merkel to discuss the G8 and G20 agenda as well as the Greek debt crisis that is gripping the European Union.

It is the last stop of a four day tour of Europe before returning to Ottawa Saturday night.

Your Globe

Build your personal news feed

Follow the author of this article:

Check Following for new articles