Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

In photos: A decade of Nobel Peace Prize winners

The Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded 93 times since 1901. Find the previous decade of winners and the reasons why they received the prestigious award, according to the Nobel Prize website.

1 of 10

The European Union won in 2012 for “over six decades contributed to the advancement of peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe.” Shown here: President of the European Council Herman Van Rompuy (L), President of the European Commission Jose Manuel Barroso (C) and President of the European Parliament Martin Schulz.


2 of 10

In 2011, the Prize went to Yemeni human rights activist Tawakul Karman (L), Liberian peace activist Leymah Gbowee (C) and Liberian President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf for “their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women's rights to full participation in peace-building work."


3 of 10

Chinese dissident Liu Xiaobo (right, pictured with his wife Liu Xia) won in 2010 for “his long and non-violent struggle for fundamental human rights in China.”


4 of 10

To some controversy, newly-minted U.S. President Barack Obama won in 2009 for “his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples."

Sigurdson, Bjorn/AP

Story continues below advertisement

5 of 10

Former Poland President Lech Walesa won in 2008 for "his important efforts, on several continents and over more than three decades, to resolve international conflicts.”


6 of 10

Former U.S. Vice President Alé Gore, left, and Rajendra Pachauri, the head of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), won in 2007 for “their efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change, and to lay the foundations for the measures that are needed to counteract such change."


7 of 10

In 2007, the Peace Prize went to two winners: Grameen Bank, represented here by board member Taslima Begum (left), and Muhammad Yunus. They won for “their efforts to create economic and social development from below."


8 of 10

International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and its director, General Mohammed ElBaradei, won in 2005 for “their efforts to prevent nuclear energy from being used for military purposes and to ensure that nuclear energy for peaceful purposes is used in the safest possible way."


9 of 10

Kenyan Nobel Peace Prize winner Wangari Maathai, centre, won in 2004 for “her contribution to sustainable development, democracy and peace."


10 of 10

Iranian human rights activist Shirin Ebadi won in 2003 for “her efforts for democracy and human rights. She has focused especially on the struggle for the rights of women and children."

JOHN LEHMANN/The Globe and Mail

Report an error