Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

IIAC president Ian Russell is seen in this file photo. (Fred Lum/The Globe and Mail/Fred Lum/The Globe and Mail)

IIAC president Ian Russell is seen in this file photo.

(Fred Lum/The Globe and Mail/Fred Lum/The Globe and Mail)

Canada's brokerage industry to get hall of fame Add to ...

The industry association for Canada’s brokerage sector is creating a new Hall of Fame to honour investment officials.

The Investment Industry Association of Canada (IIAC) said it will award a maximum of four awards annually to living candidates as well as a maximum of four posthumously to deceased brokerage industry officials.

IIAC chief executive officer Ian Russell said the awards will honour “an elite group of individuals whose contributions to the investment industry and Canada has become legend.”

“Formal recognition of excellence in the Canadian investment industry is long overdue,” he said.

The six-member selection committee for the awards will be headed by former Manitoba premier Gary Filmon, who is now chair of Exchange Income Corp.

Other members of the committee are Chris Collingwood, chief executive officer of Baine Johnston Corp.; Colin Dodds, president of Saint Mary’s University; Margaret Franklin, president of Marret Private Wealth and former global chair of the CFA Institute; Jean Martel, partner at Lavery de Billy LLP; and Lois Mitchell, senior partner at Rainmaker Global Business Development.

Mr. Russell said members of the brokerage industry have contributed a lot to Canada, with the sector employing 400,000 people and managing $272-billion in RRSP funds for six million Canadians. The Hall of Fame criteria are designed to honour excellence, leadership and integrity.

Among the requirements, nominees must have demonstrated their leadership skills including holding executive positions, being recognized as an “influencer” through awards or appointments, or by devising innovative solutions in financing and trading. The criteria also looks for contributions to the investment industry by building “independent franchises” or serving on boards related to the investment industry or advocating sound public policy.

Nominees should also have demonstrated integrity and ethics, and should have benefited their communities by volunteering or holding leadership positions in community organizations, IIAC said.

Nominations for the first awards are due by May 17 and winners will be announced in late June. The induction ceremony will be Oct. 3 on the evening of IIAC’s annual conference.

Report Typo/Error

Follow on Twitter: @JMcFarlandGlobe

Next story




Most popular videos »

More from The Globe and Mail

Most popular