Skip to main content

Toronto Blue Jays second baseman Marcus Semien (10) celebrates his solo home run with teammate Vladimir Guerrero Jr. (27) during fifth inning MLB baseball action against the Baltimore Orioles, in Toronto, on Oct. 3, 2021.Frank Gunn/The Canadian Press

Buster Posey picked up one more parting gift to cap off his terrific career.

The long-time San Francisco Giants catcher, who announced his retirement last week, earned his fifth Silver Slugger award on Thursday night. Posey hit .304 with 18 homers, 56 RBIs and a .390 on-base percentage in 113 games in 2021.

The Silver Slugger awards, which are voted upon by major league managers and coaches, recognize the top offensive players at each position in both leagues using a variety of statistical categories.

Four Atlanta Braves players picked up Silver Slugger awards to go along with their World Series championship rings. The quartet were first baseman Freddie Freeman (third career award), second baseman Ozzie Albies (second), third baseman Austin Riley (first) and pitcher Max Fried (first).

In the American League, Boston Red Sox shortstop Xander Bogaerts and Kansas City Royals catcher Salvador Perez each picked up their fourth career Silver Slugger honours. The AL list included five first-time winners: Los Angeles Angels designated hitter Shohei Ohtani, Toronto Blue Jays first baseman Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Blue Jays second baseman Marcus Semien, Red Sox third baseman Rafael Devers and Baltimore Orioles outfielder Cedric Mullins.

This year’s awards will be placed on public display at the Louisville Slugger museum in Kentucky before they are sent to big-league teams at the start of the 2022 season to be presented to the winners.

The full list of Silver Slugger winners:

National League

C – Buster Posey, Giants

1B – Freddie Freeman, Braves

2B – Ozzie Albies, Braves

3B – Austin Riley, Braves

SS – Fernando Tatis Jr., Padres

OF – Juan Soto, Nationals

OF – Bryce Harper, Phillies

OF – Nick Castellanos, Reds

P – Max Fried, Braves

American League

C – Salvador Perez, Royals

1B – Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Blue Jays

2B – Marcus Semien, Blue Jays

3B – Rafael Devers, Red Sox

SS – Xander Bogaerts, Red Sox

OF – Teoscar Hernandez, Blue Jays

OF – Aaron Judge, Yankees

OF – Cedric Mullins, Orioles

DH – Shohei Ohtani, Angels