Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Carleton’s Scrubb repeats as top basketball player in CIS

Carleton University Raven basketball player Philip Scrubb dribbles the ball during practice February21, 2013 in Ottawa.

Dave Chan/The Globe and Mail

Philip Scrubb, a third-year guard from Carleton University, was chosen the country's most outstanding player in Canadian Interuniversity Sport men's basketball for the second successive season on Wednesday.

The 20-year-old from Richmond, B.C., became the seventh player to claim a second Mike Moser Memorial Trophy, including five back-to-back winners. He also keeps the trophy in the Ravens' family for the third year in a row and for the sixth time in the past eight campaigns.

Scrubb, who kicked off his university career in 2010-11 with rookie-of-the-year honours, was one of four repeat winners announced.

Story continues below advertisement

Lakehead point guard Greg Carter was again selected the nation's top defensive player while Guelph forward Daniel McCarthy merited a second Ken Shields Award in recognition of his excellence in basketball, academics and community involvement.

Carleton's Dave Smart became the first person to receive three successive Stuart W. Aberdeen Memorial Trophies as the CIS coach of the year.

Rounding out the CIS award winners for 2012-13 is UPEI guard Deontay Smith, who was presented with the Dr. Peter Mullins Trophy as rookie of the year.

Scrubb, a 6-foot-3 guard, finished sixth in scoring in Ontario University Athletics with a team-high 18.6 points a game and was deadly from three-point range, connecting on 42.6 per cent of his attempts.

Scrubb's stellar play helped the Ravens to another first-place finish in OUA East with a 19-1 record.

The all-Canadian teams were also announced on Wednesday.

Joining Scrubb on the first squad were fellow conference MVPs Jimmy Dorsey from Cape Breton and Saskatchewan guard Stephon Lamar, as well as forwards Tyson Hinz from Carleton and Owen Klassen of Acadia.

Story continues below advertisement

The second team is comprised of a quintet of first-time all-Canadians, including RSEQ MVP Mike Andrews, Windsor forward Lien Phillip, and guards Doug Plumb of UBC, Maxwell Allin of Wilfrid Laurier and Warren Ward of Ottawa.

In addition to Smith, the all-rookie squad is made up of Demers-Bélanger, Boney and Ouahrig, already honoured in their league, as well as Cape Breton guard Shaquille Keith.

Report an error Licensing Options

The Globe invites you to share your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful to everyone. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.

We’ve made some technical updates to our commenting software. If you are experiencing any issues posting comments, simply log out and log back in.

Discussion loading… ✨