Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content


FIBA Americas Championship Add to ...

A primer for the FIBA Americas Championship:

What it is The 10-team tournament is held every two years as a qualifier for either the world championship or the Olympics. This year, it's for the worlds.

Where San Juan

Format There are three rounds, beginning with a round robin in which Canada plays one game each against the other four teams in Group A - Mexico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Uruguay and host Puerto Rico. The Canadians then play a round robin against the teams is Group B. The top eight teams qualify for the quarter-finals. The four quarter-finals winners qualify for the 2010 world championship in Turkey.

Past Canada placed fifth in the 2007 Americas Championship.

Roster Canada has nine players back from the team that fell short in Olympic qualifying in Greece last summer. Key returnees include Carl English, Jesse Young, Joel Anthony, Jermaine Anderson and Olu Famutimi. Leo Rautins is the head coach.

Broadcast Games will be carried live on The Score and rebroadcast in the evenings in prime time.

Report Typo/Error

Next story




Most popular videos »

More from The Globe and Mail

Most popular