Skip to main content

LSU will play Oklahoma and Ohio State will face defending national champion Clemson in the College Football Playoff.

The selection committee revealed the pairings on Sunday for the national semi-finals and the final four was no surprise. The only mystery involved which team would be the No. 1 seed. The 13-member committee went with Southeastern Conference champion LSU. The top-seeded Tigers (13-0) will head back to Atlanta for its playoff game to face the Big 12 champion Sooners (12-1) in the Peach Bowl on Dec. 28 at 4 p.m. ET.

LSU used a convincing victory against Georgia at Mercedes-Benz Stadium on Saturday to move up to No. 1. Ohio State had been atop the committee’s rankings last week, but the Buckeyes slipped to No. 2 after coming from behind against Wisconsin to win the Big Ten title. The No. 1 seed has yet to win the CFP in five years.

“Any time, anywhere, anybody, we ready to play,” LSU coach Ed Orgeron said in an interview with ESPN.

The Buckeyes (13-0) will face Atlantic Coast Conference champion Clemson (13-0) in the Fiesta Bowl in Glendale, Ariz., on Dec. 28 at 8 p.m. ET. The national championship game is Jan. 13 in New Orleans.

The Tigers and Buckeyes flip-flopped at No. 1 a couple of times throughout the committee’s six weeks of ranking teams.

“It was a similar debate that we’ve had every week. These teams were extremely close,” said committee chairman Rob Mullens, the Oregon athletic director. “The key element the last two weeks was we saw an LSU defence healthy and playing better.”

Pairings for the other New Year’s Six bowls were to be released later Sunday.

The final four fell into place as the favourites won their conference championship games and Utah lost the Pac-12 title game to Oregon. The Utes had been No. 5. That left three undefeated Power Five champions, one with one loss, and nobody else with a legitimate case to claim a spot.

The intrigue was about the top seed, knowing Clemson was likely locked into No. 3. The Tigers have been mauling their opponents for the last two months, but the ACC has not provided Clemson any top-flight competition, either. Ohio State has five victories against CFP-ranked teams, including two against Wisconsin. Clemson’s only win against those teams was its 62-17 victory on Saturday against Virginia.

Still, drawing Clemson, which has the core of a team that has won 28 straight games, rather than an Oklahoma team that has five victories by a touchdown or less, certainly seems like a tougher task for the Buckeyes. Clemson is making its fifth straight playoff appearance, tying Alabama for the most, and coach Dabo Swinney’s Tigers have won two of the past three championships.

LSU is in the playoff for the first time, the only newbie in the field. The Tigers will likely bring the Heisman Trophy winner with them. Quarterback Joe Burrow capped a record-breaking season by throwing four more touchdown passes against Georgia in the SEC championship.

Ohio State is making its third playoff appearance and first since 2016 after just missing out the previous two seasons. The Buckeyes won the first playoff championship in 2014. Their last appearance came after the 2016 season, when they were shut out by Clemson in the semi-finals at the Fiesta Bowl. That was all under coach Urban Meyer. Now, Ryan Day leads the Buckeyes, and in his first season as Meyer’s successor has the Buckeyes unbeaten.

`’Do I feel we should have been the [No. 1] seed? Yeah. But LSU’s done an unbelievable job and what Joe [Burrow] has done,“ Day said. “At the end of the day, you have to go beat the best to win a national championship, and Clemson certainly is that.”

The Tigers are 3-0 all-time against Ohio State, all in the postseason. The Buckeyes enter the playoff with a 19-game winning streak.

Oklahoma is in the playoff for the fourth time, but has yet to win a game. This will be the third consecutive year the Sooners face an SEC team.

Oklahoma and LSU have split two previous meetings: The Sooners won the 1950 Sugar Bowl and the Tigers won the BCS championship game at the Sugar Bowl in 2004.

Former Alabama quarterback Jalen Hurts is back in the playoff for the fourth straight year, this time with the Sooners, after going three times with the Crimson Tide. Hurts follows Heisman winners Baker Mayfield and Kyler Murray as quarterback transfers to find success in coach Lincoln Riley’s offence.

LSU and Ohio State are also led by transfer quarterbacks. Burrow started his career at Ohio State before switching schools in 2018. Buckeyes quarterback Justin Fields was at Georgia last season.

Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence led the Tigers to a national championship as a freshman last season, the first time since 1985 that happened.

Follow related authors and topics

Authors and topics you follow will be added to your personal news feed in Following.

Interact with The Globe