Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

(Paul Chiasson)
(Paul Chiasson)

Lulay likely to win big at CFL awards Add to ...

As of late Wednesday, B.C. Lions’ quarterback Travis Lulay had yet to rent a tuxedo or prepare a speech. He’ll probably need both Thursday night when the CFL Gibson’s Finest player of the year awards are presented at the Vancouver Convention Centre.

Lulay, in his first full season as a starter, is likely to beat out his East Division counterpart Anthony Calvillo of the Montreal Alouettes. The Lions are West Division champs and in the Grey Cup. Montreal was eliminated in the East semi-final after slumping through the last half of the regular season. Even Calvillo has admitted he expects to be clapping for Lulay as the CFL’s most outstanding player.

As for the rest of the awards, here they are with the projected winners:

Most outstanding defensive player: Winnipeg Blue Bombers’ cornerback Jovon Johnson over Saskatchewan Roughriders’ linebacker Jerrell Freeman.

Most outstanding Canadian player: Edmonton Eskimos’ running back Jerome Messam over Montreal kicker Sean Whyte.

Most outstanding special teams player: Lions’ kicker Paul McCallum over Toronto Argonauts’ return man Chad Owens.

Most outstanding rookie: Hamilton Tiger-Cats’ receiver Chris Williams over Edmonton Eskimos’ linebacker J.C. Sherritt.

Most outstanding offensive lineman: B.C.’s Jovan Olafioye over Montreal’s Josh Bourke.

Report Typo/Error

Follow on Twitter: @AllanMaki

Next story




Most popular videos »

More from The Globe and Mail

Most popular