Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Milanovich, Benevides and Hufnagel finalists for CFL’s coach of the year award

Scott Milanovich of the Toronto Argonauts, Mike Benevides of the B.C. Lions and John Hufnagel of the Calgary Stampeders

The Canadian Press, Reuters

Scott Milanovich of the Grey Cup-champion Toronto Argonauts was named a finalist for the CFL's coach of the year award Wednesday.

John Hufnagel of the Calgary Stampeders and Mike Benevides of the B.C. Lions were the other finalists.

Voting was conducted by the Football Reporters of Canada. The award winner will be honoured Feb. 28 in Regina.

Story continues below advertisement

Toronto finished second in the East Division with a 9-9 record under its rookie head coach. But following playoff wins over Edmonton and Montreal, the Argos capped their season by downing Calgary 35-22 in the 100th Grey Cup game at Rogers Centre.

Hufnagel, the CFL's top coach in 2008, led Calgary to second spot in the West Division with a 12-6 record despite losing starter Drew Tate to injury for most of the season. The Stampeders defeated Saskatchewan and B.C. in the playoffs to make their second Grey Cup appearance in five years.

Benevides guided B.C. to a league-best 13-5 record in his first season as head coach. The 13 victories tied a franchise record for most wins by a first-year head coach.

Report an error

The Globe invites you to share your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful to everyone. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.

We’ve made some technical updates to our commenting software. If you are experiencing any issues posting comments, simply log out and log back in.

Discussion loading… ✨