Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Quarterbacks Graves, Quinlan and Dzwilewski up for Hec Crighton Trophy

Acadia Axemen quarterback Kyle Graves takes practice at Moncton Stadium in Moncton, N.B. on Thursday, Nov. 17, 2011.

Andrew Vaughan/The Canadian Press

Quarterbacks Kyle Graves of Acadia, Kyle Quinlan of McMaster and Eric Dzwilewski of Calgary were nominated Thursday for the Hec Crighton Trophy as the top player in Canadian Interuniversity Sport football.

Graves, a fifth-year arts student from Barrie, Ont., repeated as Atlantic conference MVP. He led all quarterbacks in the conference in passing yards (2,012), touchdown passes (14) and completion percentage (57.1).

Graves, who threw four interceptions in eight games, also rushed 28 times for 167 yards and two touchdowns. He was also the league's best punter with an average of 40.3 yards.

Story continues below advertisement

Quinlan, a fifth-year economics student from South Woodslee, Ont., led all CIS teams with 19 touchdown passes. He was intercepted twice over eight games, threw for 2,457 yards and posted a 68.9 completion percentage.

The 2011 Vanier Cup MVP topped all CIS pivots with seven touchdowns. He also had 550 rushing yards.

Dzwilewski, a third-year arts student from Boise, Idaho, led the CIS with a 70.6 completion percentage. He led the Canada West conference with 2,290 passing yards and 15 touchdown passes.

Dzwilewski threw five interceptions over eight games and added three rushing touchdowns.

The nominees for the other individual awards were also unveiled Thursday. All nominees from the Quebec conference will be announced Friday.

St.FX linebacker Brett Hubbeard, McMaster linebacker Aram Eisho and Calgary linebacker Mike Edem are up for the Presidents' Trophy as defensive player of the year.

McMaster defensive end Ben D'Aguilar, Regina guard Brett Jones and Saint Mary's defensive end Rob Jubenville are the nominees for the J.P. Metras Trophy as outstanding down lineman.

Story continues below advertisement

The nominees for the Peter Gorman Trophy as rookie of the year include Acadia running back Thomas Troop, Western running back Yannick Harou and Calgary receiver Brett Blaszko.

Saint Mary's offensive tackle Matt Albright, Guelph defensive back Zach Androschuk and Regina guard Brett Jones are up for the Russ Jackson Award for football, academics and citizenship.

The nominees for the Frank Tindall Trophy as coach of the year include Acadia's Jeff Cummins, McMaster's Stefan Ptaszek and Calgary's Blake Nill.

The Frank Tindall Trophy and Russ Jackson Award will be presented Nov. 21, a day before the other awards are handed out in Toronto.

Report an error
As of December 20, 2017, we have temporarily removed commenting from our articles. We hope to have this resolved by the end of January 2018. Thank you for your patience. If you are looking to give feedback on our new site, please send it along to If you want to write a letter to the editor, please forward to