Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Weworski finishes first at Canadian Tour Q-School

American Tyler Weworski shot a final round 5-under 67 to earn medalist honours at the 2012 Canadian Tour Fall Qualifying School Friday.

The Carlsbad, California golfer finished five strokes ahead of compatriot Neil Johnson, leading a group of 31 players who earned status on the Canadian Tour for 2013, including 11 former Canadian Tour players.

Weworski made four birdies, an eagle and a bogey at Crosswinds Golf & Country Club in Burlington, Ont., to hold off a charge from Johnson, who shot 31 on the front before finishing with a 68.

Story continues below advertisement

The 22-year old Weworski, who recently made it through PGA TOUR Q-School Pre-Qualifying, said no matter where he's playing in 2013 he hopes to keep improving.

"I'm just going to keep the pedal to the medal, keep on grinding and trust that I'll be able to keep getting better,"he said.

Six shots behind Weworski and one shot behind Johnson was Beon-Yeong Lee of Montreal, who tied the low round of the week with a 7-under 65 to finish 9-under overall. Two shots further back was a trio of players that included Toronto's Lucas Leibel, American Evan Harmeling and 2012 Canadian Tour rookie Billy Houle of Joilette, Que., who shot a 3-under 69.

The top-15 players on the week earned exempt status including 2012 Canadian Tour rookie Jan Meierling (-6), Canadian Tour veteran Tyler Mancini (-5), Ben Moser (E), former Canadian Tour players Nathan Leonhardt (+1), Jace Walker (+2) and Peter Campbell (+2), Alex Carrigan (+3), Josh Bauer (+3) and Burlington's own JJ Regan (+2).

Leonhardt recovered from an opening-round 80 with rounds of 68, 70 and 71 to finish 1-over and earn exempt status. Campbell also posted a spectacular recovery: after an opening nine of 45 in the first round, Campbell shot 29 on the back and followed up with rounds of 74, 71 and 71 to earn exempt status.

Several former Canadian Tour members were among the 16 players who regained non-exempt status, including Andrew Jensen, Ryan Corbin, Adrian Cord, Jesse Speirs and Scott Loewen.

Report an error Licensing Options

The Globe invites you to share your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful to everyone. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.

We’ve made some technical updates to our commenting software. If you are experiencing any issues posting comments, simply log out and log back in.

Discussion loading… ✨