Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

Canadian LPGA player Rebecca Lee-Bentham (Jeff Brooke)
Canadian LPGA player Rebecca Lee-Bentham (Jeff Brooke)

DeLaet, Lee-Bentham, Henderson and Conners named Canada’s players of the year Add to ...

Graham DeLaet, Rebecca Lee-Bentham, Brooke Henderson and Corey Conners have been named the 2013 Players of the Year by the Golf Journalists Association of Canada.

DeLaet was named the Male Professional of the year following his breakout season on the PGA Tour, which included seven top-10 finishes and his first ever Presidents Cup selection. The Weyburn, Sask. golfer will also be making his first appearance at the Masters later this spring after qualifying for the FedEx Cup Tour Championship last fall.

Toronto’s Lee-Bentham was named the Female Professional of the Year after a breakthrough season on the LPGA Tour. After earning medalist honours at Q-School, Lee-Bentham finished as the top-earning Canadian on the Tour with just over $118,000 in 19 events to retain her status for 2014. Her best finish wa sa tie for 11th at the Evian Championship, which became the fifth major this past year.

Henderson earned Female Amateur of the Year honours after a year in which the 16-year-old captured the South American Amateur championship, the Canadian Women’s Amateur Championship, a victory at the CN Future Links Pacific event and medalist honours at the Spirit International. The Smiths Falls, Ont. golfer capped the year by winning the prestigious Junior Orange Bowl Championship last month. Henderson starts 2014 as the sixth ranked amateur in the world.

Conners was named the Male Amateur of the Year following a runner-up finish at the Canadian Men’s Amateur Championship and a semi-final appearance at the U.S. Amateur Championship. The Listowel, Ont. golfer finished the year ranked No. 40 in the world, but managed to reach a career-high 22nd last September.

Report Typo/Error

Follow us on Twitter: @Globe_Sports

Next story




Most popular videos »

More from The Globe and Mail

Most popular