Skip to main content

Edmonton Oilers centre Leon Draisaitl skates during a game against the Vegas Golden Knights on Feb. 26, 2020, in Las Vegas.John Locher/The Associated Press

Edmonton Oilers forward Leon Draisaitl, Colorado Avalanche forward Nathan MacKinnon and New York Rangers forward Artemi Panarin are the finalists for the 2019-20 Ted Lindsay Award.

The award is presented annually to the “most outstanding” player in the NHL, as voted by members of the National Hockey League Players’ Association.

“Two highly skilled players, two the best players in the world,” Draisaitl said of his fellow nominees. “They very much deserved to be nominated.”

Draisaitl, 24, topped all NHL scorers with 110 points (43 goals, 67 assists) to become the first German-born player to win the Art Ross Trophy.

MacKinnon, 24, had 93 points (35 goals, 58 assists) to rank fifth in the league, 43 points ahead of his closest teammate. He led the league with 318 shots on goal.

Panarin, 28, led all NHL players in even-strength points (71), tied for second in assists (63) and tied for third in points (95).

“This award, it’s a one-year thing, but I think a body of work is required to get the respect of your peers,” MacKinnon said of Draisaitl and Panarin. “These guys have been so dominant for so long. It’s a tough league, and the way these guys produce every year and every night is very special.”

All three players are seeking their first Ted Lindsay Award. MacKinnon was a finalist in 2017-18.

This content appears as provided to The Globe by the originating wire service. It has not been edited by Globe staff.

Report an error