Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Chara, Karlsson, Weber nominated for Norris Trophy

Erik Karlsson, Zdeno Chara and Shea Weber

Zdeno Chara of the Boston Bruins, Erik Karlsson of the Ottawa Senators and Shea Weber of the Nashville Predators are the finalists for the Norris Trophy for the NHL's best defenseman.

The winner will be announced June 20 at the NHL awards ceremony in Las Vegas.

Chara, who won the Norris in 2009, had a career-high 52 points (12 goals, 40 assists) for Boston.

Story continues below advertisement

Karlsson led all defensemen in scoring with 78 points (19 goals, 59 assists). He finished with 25 points more than any other defenseman — the widest winning margin since Pittsburgh's Paul Coffey topped the field by 38 points in 1988-89.

Weber, the Nashville captain, was sixth in scoring among defensemen with 49 points (19 goals, 30 assists).

Report an error
Comments are closed

We have closed comments on this story for legal reasons. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.