Skip to main content

Former Ottawa Senators goaltender Ray Emery is making a comeback in the OHL. (CP PHOTO/Paul Chiasson)

Paul Chiasson

Here's a running tally of who has been selected from each team for the NHL's Masterton Trophy, an award dedicated to the player who displays "qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey."

Anaheim - Ray Emery Atlanta - Ron Hainsey Boston - Shawn Thornton Buffalo - Mike Grier Calgary - Daymond Langkow Carolina - Erik Cole Chicago - Ryan Johnson Colorado - Milan Hejduk Columbus - Derek MacKenzie Dallas - Stephane Robidas Detroit - Kris Draper Edmonton - Ryan Jones Florida - David Booth Los Angeles - Willie Mitchell Minnesota - Pierre-Marc Bouchard Montreal - Mathieu Darche Nashville - Francois Bouillon New Jersey - Brian Rolston NY Islanders - Al Montoya NY Rangers - no nominee Ottawa - Ryan Shannon Philadelphia - Ian Laperriere Phoenix - Shane Doan Pittsburgh - Deryk Engelland San Jose - Joe Pavelski St. Louis - BJ Crombeen Tampa Bay - Adam Hall Toronto - Tim Brent Vancouver - Sami Salo Washington - Matt Hendricks

With this award, all of the members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association give their votes to their local chapter chairman, they're compiled and each chapter names its nominee. At the end of the regular season, from the 30 players nominated, the writers vote again for the leaguewide winner.

Story continues below advertisement

That winner will be named at the awards ceremony in Las Vegas in late June.

Report an error
As of December 20, 2017, we have temporarily removed commenting from our articles. We hope to have this resolved by the end of January 2018. Thank you for your patience. If you are looking to give feedback on our new site, please send it along to If you want to write a letter to the editor, please forward to