Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content


Globe Sports

Globe on Hockey

The Globe and Mail's team brings the latest news and analysis from across the NHL

Entry archive:

The 2012 Masterton Trophy nominees Add to ...

Here’s a running tally of who has been selected from each team for the NHL's Masterton Trophy, an award dedicated to the player who displays “qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.”

Anaheim: Jonas Hiller Boston: Johnny Boychuk Buffalo: Jason Pominville Calgary: Miikka Kiprusoff Carolina: Jay Harrison Chicago: Ray Emery Colorado: Peter Mueller Columbus: Curtis Sanford Dallas: Kari Lehtonen Detroit: Tomas Holmstrom Edmonton: Corey Potter Florida: Tomas Fleischmann Los Angeles: Colin Fraser Minnesota: Clayton Stoner Montreal: Max Pacioretty Nashville: Jordin Tootoo New Jersey: Petr Sykora NY Islanders: Jay Pandolfo NY Rangers: Dan Girardi Ottawa: Daniel Alfredsson Philadelphia: Jaromir Jagr Phoenix: Mike Smith Pittsburgh: Matt Cooke San Jose: Tommy Wingels St. Louis: Brian Elliott Tampa Bay: Martin St. Louis Toronto: Joffrey Lupul Vancouver: Manny Malhotra Washington: Dennis Wideman Winnipeg: Jim Slater

With this award, all of the members of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association give their votes to their local chapter chairman. They are then compiled and each chapter names its nominee.

At the end of the regular season, from the 30 players nominated, the writers vote again for the leaguewide winner.

That winner will be named at the awards ceremony in Las Vegas in late June.

Report Typo/Error

Next story




Most popular videos »

More from The Globe and Mail

Most popular