Skip to main content

Calgary Flames' Lee Stempniak handles the puck during the third period of their NHL hockey game against the Ottawa Senators in Calgary, Alberta, November 15, 2011. One scenario in NHL realignment would see Calgary, Edmonton, Vancouver, San Jose, Phoenix, Anaheim, Los Angeles all in the same division. REUTERS/Todd Korol

Todd Korol/Reuters

Pacific: Calgary, Edmonton, Vancouver, San Jose, Phoenix, Anaheim, Los Angeles

Midwest: Nashville, Chicago, St. Louis, Minnesota, Dallas, Colorado, Winnipeg, Columbus Atlantic: Washington, Tampa, Florida, Carolina, New York Islanders, New York Rangers, New Jersey

Northeast: Toronto, Buffalo, Ottawa, Montreal, Detroit, Boston, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh.

Story continues below advertisement

This creates two 15-team conferences. However, there is the possibility that Philadelphia and Pittsburgh go to different divisions, which would involve 14 teams in one conference and 16 in the other. In that scenario, Columbus would also go east along with Detroit and join the Northeast, pushing Philadelphia into the Atlantic and splitting up the two Pennsylvania rivals.

Of course, Phoenix is the wild card. Who can predict where it will be next year?

Report an error Licensing Options
Comments are closed

We have closed comments on this story for legal reasons. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.