Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Jessica Zelinka dominates Athletics Canada’s annual awards

Canada's Jessica Zelinka looks at the score board as she finishes the women's 100-metre hurdle final at the Olympic Stadium during the Summer Olympics in London on Tuesday, August 7, 2012.


Jessica Zelinka of London, Ont., dominated Athletics Canada's awards for 2012, collecting three honours.

The heptathlete won the outstanding athlete of the year, the most outstanding athlete in track events, and the combined events athlete of the year.

The winners were chosen by an awards committee from athletes nominated by the track and field community. They'll be honoured at the 2013 Canadian championships in June in Moncton, N.B.

Story continues below advertisement

Zelinka capped an exceptional season by winning the Jack W. Davies Trophy as both the outstanding athlete and combined events athlete. She booked her ticket to the London Olympics with a Canadian record in the heptathlon at the Olympic trials, and added another victory in the 100-metre hurdles. Zelinka went on to finish seventh in London in both the heptathlon and 100-metre hurdles.

Zelinka and Phylicia George of Markham, Ont., tied for the Phil A. Edwards Memorial Trophy for outstanding athlete in track events. George finished sixth at the Olympics in the 100-metre hurdles. She also qualified in the 100 metres, but elected not to race that event in London.

Olympic bronze medallist Derek Drouin of Corunna, Ont., won both the Cal D. Bricker Memorial Trophy for outstanding performance of the year and the F.N.A. Rowell Trophy for outstanding athlete of the year in field events.

Drouin's bronze was Canada's only track and field medal in London and first for a Canadian in high jump since 1976.

Vancouver's Inaki Gomez won the Fred Begley Memorial Trophy for outstanding athlete of the year in off-track events, finishing 13th in the men's 20-K race walk in a Canadian record time in London.

Sarah Wells, a 400-metre hurdler from Unionville, Ont., won the Fred Tees Memorial Trophy as the outstanding athlete of enrolled in a Canadian University (University of Toronto).

Toronto pole vaulter Shawnacy Barber earned the Eric E. Coy Trophy as the outstanding junior athlete, while hurdler Nicole Setterington of London, Ont., claimed the Myrtle Cook Trophy as the outstanding youth.

Story continues below advertisement

Ottawa's Jason Dunkerley picked up the outstanding para-athlete of the year in ambulatory events, while Michelle Stilwell of Nanoose Bay, B.C., is the top para-athlete in wheelchair events.

Anthony McCleary of Pickering, Ont., was voted coach of the year.

Report an error

The Globe invites you to share your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful to everyone. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.

We’ve made some technical updates to our commenting software. If you are experiencing any issues posting comments, simply log out and log back in.

Discussion loading… ✨