Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Olympic bobsledder Heather Moyse named to Rugby Hall of Fame

Heather Moyse, an Olympic bobsled champion, has been named to the World Rugby Hall of Fame.

Marc Bence/CP

Heather Moyse, whose achievements include three sports and Olympic gold, takes another remarkable step on her career path this week.

The 38-year-old from Summerside, PEI, now based in Toronto, enters the World Rugby Hall of Fame on Thursday with 11 others in a star-studded class. Moyse is just the second Canadian rugby player to be so honoured, joining former Canadian captain Gareth Rees. Moyse and the others will be inducted into the Hall in Rugby, England.

"Truly honoured to have been selected as an inductee into a #HallOfFame for making an #impact on a sport I love so much!" Moyse said via Twitter.

Story continues below advertisement

Rees, now Rugby Canada's director of commercial and program relations, offered his congratulations, also via social media.

"Well deserved for you and the generation of RugbyCanada teammates that did so much for the women's game!" he tweeted.

She was the leading try-scorer in both the 2006 and 2010 Women's Rugby World Cups, and also took part in the 2013 tournament.

She won Olympic bobsled gold in 2010 and 2014 with Kaillie Humphries. She also represented Canada in the 2012 Pan-American Cycling Championships

The other Hall of Fame inductees are Brian O'Driscoll (Ireland), Shane Williams (Wales), Jeremy Guscott (England), Lawrence Dallaglio (England), John Dawes (Wales), GPS Macpherson (Scotland), Arthur Gould (Wales), Jonny Wilkinson (England), Daniel Carroll (Australia and the United States), Daisuke Ohata (Japan) and Maggie Alphonsi (England).

"The latest set of inductions includes some real legends, players who have helped to shape the image of rugby and inspire generations of fans," World Rugby chairman Bill Beaumont said in a statement.

"They are truly some of the biggest names in our sport and all have contributed immensely to the enjoyment we have all felt watching top-level rugby over the decades. Each of these 12 inductees has made a positive impression on the sport that will last the test of time."

Story continues below advertisement

Report an error
As of December 20, 2017, we have temporarily removed commenting from our articles. We hope to have this resolved by the end of January 2018. Thank you for your patience. If you are looking to give feedback on our new site, please send it along to If you want to write a letter to the editor, please forward to