Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Victoria gets 2013 men’s world curling championship

Victoria will play host to the 2013 Ford World Men's Curling Championship.

The competition will be held at the 6,500-seat Save-on-Foods Memorial Centre from March 30 to April 7, 2013. The venue was home to the same event in 2005.

It will mark the 21st time that Canada has staged the world men's championship since 1959, the fifth time in B.C. and second in Victoria.

Story continues below advertisement

Canada has won a leading 33 world men's titles since 1959, including Jeff Stoughton's 2011 title in Regina.

Canada has never lost when British Columbia has been host to the world men's championship (Ron Northcott, 1966; Russ Howard, 1987; Wayne Middaugh, 1998; Randy Ferbey, 2005).

The 2013 World Women's Curling Championship has been awarded to Riga, Latvia.

The 2012 women's event is set for March 17 to 25 in Lethbridge, Alta. The men's championship will be in Basel, Switzerland, March 31 to April 8.

Report an error
Comments are closed

We have closed comments on this story for legal reasons. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.