Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Defending gold medalist Jasey-Jay Anderson among 19 named to Canada’s snowboard team

Canadian Jasey Jay Anderson celebrates after winning the second FIS World Cup snowboard-cross race in Whistler, Friday, Dec. 9, 2005.

The Canadian Press

Defending Olympic gold medalist Jasey-Jay Anderson and 2010 Olympians Dominique Maltais and Caroline Calve are among 19 athletes added to Canada's Olympic snowboard team.

Anderson, from Mont-Tremblant, Que., claimed gold in the men's parallel giant slalom at the 2010 Vancouver Olympics and is a four-time world champion.

Maltais, from Petite-Riviere-St-Francois, Que., won bronze in snowboard cross at the 2006 Turin Games and silver at the 2013 world championships. She'll be looking to rebound for a disappointing Olympics in 2010 where she failed to qualify for the snowboard cross final.

Story continues below advertisement

Calve, from Aylmer, Que., became the first Canadian to win a women's parallel giant slalom world cup event in 2011 at Carezza, Italy. She recently took gold there again in December.

"Going to Sochi is an once-in-a-lifetime opportunity and one that I am honoured to have been chosen for," Calve said. "I have been working on perfecting my game for such a long time now and am excited to be competing against the world's best.

"It will be an honour to be representing Canada at the Olympics."

Also named were: Jenna Blasman (Kitchener, Ont.); Alexandra Duckworth (Kingsburg, N.S.); Ariane Lavigne (Lac Superieur, Que.); Marianne Leeson (Burlington, Ont.); Mercedes Nicoll (Whistler, B.C.); Katie Tsuyuki (Toronto); Rob Fagan (Cranbrook, B.C.); Kevin Hill (Vernon, B.C.); Jake Holden (Caledon, Ont.); Michael Lambert (Toronto); Crispin Lipscomb (Whistler, B.C.); Derek Livingston (Aurora, Ont.); Brad Martin (Ancaster, Ont.); Matt Morison (Burketon, Ont.); Maxence Parrot (Bromont, Que.); and Charles Reid (Mont-Tremblant).

They will join defending Olympic snowboard cross champion Maelle Ricker of West Vancouver, B.C., and first-time Olympians Mark McMorris of Regina, Sebastien Toutant of L'Assomption, Que., Spencer O'Brien of Courtenay, B.C., and Calgary's Chris Robanske, who were named to the team earlier this month.

Report an error

The Globe invites you to share your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful to everyone. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.

Please note that our commenting partner Civil Comments is closing down. As such we will be implementing a new commenting partner in the coming weeks. As of December 20th, 2017 we will be shutting down commenting on all article pages across our site while we do the maintenance and updates. We understand that commenting is important to our audience and hope to have a technical solution in place January 2018.

Discussion loading… ✨