Skip to main content

Canadian Alphonso Davies has been named CONCACAF Men’s Player of the Year for the second year in a row.

The 22-year-old from Edmonton is the first back-to-back winner of the award that dates back to 2013. Costa Rica goalkeeper Keylor Navas has also won the award twice, but not in consecutive years (2014 and 2017).

Jamaica’s Khadija Shaw won the Women’s Player of the Year Award.

The awards were decided in a vote by coaches, players, media and fans from across CONCACAF, which covers North and Central America and the Caribbean,

Canadian forward Jonathan David was also a finalist for the men’s award while Canadian midfielder Jessie Fleming, who plays her club football for England’s Chelsea, was in the running for women’s honours.

Davies, who plays fullback for Bayern Munich but often occupies a more attacking role for Canada, won the 2022 CONCACAF award after scoring Canada’s first-ever goal at the FIFA men’s World Cup in its return to the soccer showcase for the first time in 36 years.

He helped Bayern win both the 2021-22 Bundesliga and 2022 DFL Supercup in Germany while becoming the all-time Canadian leader in UEFA Champions League appearances.

For Canada, Davies scored three goals in seven international matches in 2022.

Your Globe

Build your personal news feed

Follow topics related to this article:

Check Following for new articles