The Globe and Mail

Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content



Vancouver Canucks

The Vancouver Canucks joined the National Hockey League as an expansion team in 1970. In its NHL history, the team has advanced to the Stanley Cup Finals three times, losing to the New York Islanders in 1982, the New York Rangers in 1994 and the Boston Bruins in 2011. The franchise also won the Presidents' Trophy as the team with the league's best regular season record in the 2010-11 and 2011-12 seasons.