Skip to main content
Open this photo in gallery:

U.S. President Donald Trump speaks in the Oval Office of the White House, in Washington, on Dec. 7, 2020.Patrick Semansky/The Associated Press

Iran on Tuesday imposed sanctions on President Donald Trump and a number of members of his administration over their alleged role in support of “terrorism,” according to its foreign ministry website.

Ministry spokesman Saeed Khatibzadeh said that besides Trump, sanctions were imposed on Secretary of State Mike Pompeo, Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin, CIA chief Gina Haspel and six other ranking U.S. officials.

The foreign ministry did not say what kind of sanctions were imposed.

From time to time, Iran impose symbolic sanctions on U.S. officials. Tuesday’s announcement comes on Trump’s last full day in office.

Khatibzadeh said the sanctions were based on Iranian law. He said they were the result of the Trump administration’s role in killing top Iranian general Qassem Soleimani in 2020 and its support for Israel in its conflict with the Palestinians.

He also cited the U.S.’s alleged role in the killing of Iranian nuclear scientist Mohsen Fakhrizadeh in December and its alleged role in the “criminal war” in Yemen.

In December, Iran imposed sanctions on the U.S. ambassador in Yemen for his alleged role in support of air strikes conducted by the Saudi-led coalition against Iran-backed Yemeni rebels known as Houthis.

Our Morning Update and Evening Update newsletters are written by Globe editors, giving you a concise summary of the day’s most important headlines. Sign up today.

Your Globe

Build your personal news feed

Follow topics related to this article:

Check Following for new articles