Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

Inbee Park

Inbee Park

Golf This Week: Park playing for LPGA history Add to ...

A bigger help is how she’s playing.

“This is the best I’m playing in my career so far,” Park said. “I’m trying to keep this going.”



COURSE: Sebonack Golf Club (6,821 yards, 6,237 metres, par 72).

PURSE: TBA ($3.25 million in 2012). Winner’s share: TBA ($585,000 in 2012).

TELEVISION: ESPN2 (Thursday-Friday, 3-7 p.m.) and NBC (Saturday-Sunday, 3-6 p.m.).

CANADIAN CONTINGENT: Kirby Dreher, Stephanie Sherlock, Nicole Zhang (a), Brooke Henderson (a), Isabelle Beisiegel, Maude-Aimee Leblanc, Lorie Kane, Jessica Shepley

NOTES: The top-ranked Inbee Park swept the first two major championships of the season, winning the Kraft Nabisco in April and the LPGA Championship three weeks ago. She is looking to join Babe Zaharias as the only LPGA player to win the first three majors to start the season. Zaharias won all three majors in 1950. ...Asian players have won nine straight majors since Stacy Lewis’ victory in the 2011 Kraft Nabisco. ...Park, who won the 2008 U.S. Women’s Open at the age of 19, will also be trying for her third straight victory as well. Only one player in LPGA history has captured the U.S. Women’s Open after having won the previous two events on the schedule - Mickey Wright in 1964. ...The last player to win three consecutive tournaments on the LPGA Tour was Lorena Ochoa, who won four-in-a-row in 2008. LPGA and World Golf Halls of Fame member Nancy Lopez holds the LPGA record with five consecutive victories in tournaments in 1978. Annika Sorenstam also accomplished the feat across two season in 2004-05. ...Park has an opportunity to become the youngest LPGA player to complete the Career Grand Slam with a victory at the RICOH Women’s British Open or the Evian Championship later this summer. ...Lydia Ko is in the field. The 16-year-old New Zealand amateur won the CN Canadian Women's Open last August to become the youngest LPGA Tour winner. The South Korea-born Ko has two other pro victories, the New South Wales Open last year and New Zealand Women’s Open this year, and won the U.S. Women’s Amateur last season. ...South Korea’s Na Yeon Choi won at Blackwolf Run in Wisconsin last year. ...Paula Creamer has made a name for herself at the U.S. Women’s Open. Not only did she capture her first major title at the event in 2010, she has finished inside the top 20 in every U.S. Women’s Open since 2004. That includes four top-10 finishes in the past five years. She played a practice round with course designer Tom Doak ahead of this year's championship.



COURSE: Congressional Country Club, Blue Course (7,569 yards, 6,921 metres, par 71).

PURSE: $6.5 million. Winner’s share: $1.17 million.

TELEVISION: Golf Channel (Thursday-Friday, 3-6 p.m., 8:30-11:30 p.m.; Saturday, 1-2:30 p.m., 8:30 p.m.-1 a.m.; Sunday, 1-2:30 p.m., 9 p.m.-1:30 a.m.) and CBS (Saturday-Sunday, 3-6 p.m.).

CANADIAN CONTENT: Stephen Ames, Graham DeLaet, Brad Fritsch, David Hearn

NOTES: Tournament host Tiger Woods, who won in 2012 and 2009, is skipping the tournament because of soreness in his left elbow. He plans to return at the British Open. ...U.S. Open champion Justin Rose withdrew on Monday, citing fatigue. He won the 2010 tournament at Aronimink in Pennsylvania. ... Masters champion Adam Scott tops the field along with Brandt Snedeker, Jason Day, Nick Watney, Jim Furyk, Bill Haas and Rickie Fowler. Watney won in 2011 at Aronimink. ... Bo Van Pelt’s runner-up showing last year is one of 24 top-10 finishes since the start of the 2010 season. That’s the most of anyone during that time frame without winning. ...Congressional was the site where Ken Venturi staggered through stifling heat to win the 1964 U.S. Open, the first of three Opens held there along with the 1976 PGA Championship.



COURSE: Carton House Golf Club (7,271 yards, 6,649 metres, par 72).

PURSE: $2.63 million. Winner’s share: $437,895.

TELEVISION: Golf Channel (Thursday-Friday, 9 a.m.-12:30 p.m.; Saturday, 8 a.m.-noon; Sunday, 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.).

Single page

Follow us on Twitter: @Globe_Sports


In the know

Most popular video »


More from The Globe and Mail

Most Popular Stories