Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

In Photos: The giants who fell in Election 2011

Long-time Liberals, star candidates and a few cabinet ministers fell in Monday night's historic vote

1 of 17

Liberal Leader Michael Ignatieff lost his own seat in Etobicoke-Lakeshore to local Conservative Bernard Trottier.

Frank Gunn/Frank Gunn/THE CANADIAN PRESS

2 of 17

Bloc Quebecois Leader Gilles Duceppe lost his seat in Laurier-Saint-Marie to NDP candidate Helene Laverdiere. He announced his resignation as party leader after the Bloc was reduced to just three seats from 47.


3 of 17

Liberal incumbent Gerard Kennedy gets a hug from daughter Theria after his defeat to the NDP candidate Peggy Nash in the Toronto riding of Parkdale-High Park.

Moe Doiron/Moe Doiron/The Globe and Mail

4 of 17

York Centre Liberal incumbent Ken Dryden fell to Conservative Mark Adler.

Fernando Morales/Fernando Morales/The Globe and M

Story continues below advertisement

5 of 17

Conservative cabinet minister Jean-Pierre Blackburn, seen in this 2010 file photo, lost his seat in Jonquiere-Alma.


6 of 17

Former foreign affairs minister Lawrence Cannon conceded defeat to NDP candidate Mathieu Ravignat in the Quebec riding of Pontiac, May 2.


7 of 17

Ruby Dhalla, the Liberal incumbent in the riding of Brampton-Springdale, was unable to hold on to her seat, losing to Conservative candidate Parm Gill.

Fred Lum/Fred Lum/The Globe and Mail

8 of 17

Vancouver South Liberal incumbent Ujjal Dosanjh makes his way through media at his campaign headquarters after conceding defeat to Conservative Wai Young May 2.

Brett Beadle/brett beadle The Globe and Mail

9 of 17

Liberal incumbent Martha Hall Findlay, seen in this 2008 file photo, lost her seat in the riding of Willowdale to Conservative Chungsen Leung.

Adrian Wyld/Adrian Wyld/The Canadian Press

10 of 17

Former Conservative cabinet minister-turned-independant candidate Helena Guergis lost the race for Simcoe-Grey to Conservative Kellie Leitch.

Fred Lum/Fred Lum/The Globe and Mail

11 of 17

Liberal incumbent Mark Holland lost a hard-fough battle for Ajax-Pickering to Conservative candidate and former ambassador to Afghanistan Chris Alexander.

Darren Calabrese/darren calabrese The Globe and Mail

12 of 17

Conservative cabinet minister Gary Lunn, seen in this 2009 file photo, lost his seat in Saanich-Gulf Islands to Green Party Leader Elizabeth May.


13 of 17

After 23 years as Liberal MP for the Toronto riding of Eglinton-Lawrence, Joe Volpe (seen in this 2009 file photo) lost his seat to Conservative Joe Oliver.

Adrian Wyld/The Canadian Press

14 of 17

Conservative incumbent Dona Cadman, seen in this 2008 file photo, fell to NDP candidate Jasbir Sandhu.

Jeff Vinnick/jeff vinnick The Globe and Mail

15 of 17

Liberal Paul Szabo, seen in a 2008 file photo, lost his seat Mississauga South to Conservative Stella Ambler. Mr. Szabo had represented the riding for 17 years.

Tom Hanson/Tom Hanson/The Canadian Press

16 of 17

Indepedant incumbent Andre Arthur was outsed by NDP candidate Elaine Michaud In Portneuf-Jacques-Cartier. (File photo of March 16, 2011).

THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jacques Boissinot

17 of 17

Liberal House Leader Marc Garneau seen in this 2010 file photo.

Adrian Wyld/Adrian Wyld/THE CANADIAN PRESS

Report an error