Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Pendrith, Svensson and Conners join the field for RBC Canadian Open

Team Canada golfer Adam Svensson

Chuck Russell/Golf Canada

Three of Canada's top amateur golfers have been extended exemptions into the RBC Canadian Open.

Taylor Pendrith of Richmond Hill, Ont., Adam Svensson of Surrey, B.C. and Corey Conners of Listowel, Ont., have been added to the field for Canada's golf championship to be played next week at The Royal Montreal Golf Club.

Pendrith is currently Canada's highest ranked male amateur on the World Amateur Golf Rankings at No. 18. The Kent State University graduate will be making his first start at the Canadian Open after recently claiming the prestigious Monroe Invitational title and finishing tied for second at the Ontario Men's Amateur Championship.

Story continues below advertisement

At No. 27 in the world amateur rankings, Svensson will make his second start at the Canadian Open fresh off an outstanding sophomore year at Barry University. Last season, the 20-year-old captured seven tournament titles and was awarded the Jack Nicklaus Award as the most outstanding men's golfer in Division II.

Rounding out the list of exemptions is Conners, No. 39 in the world, who recently reached the finals at the North and South Amateur Championship earlier this month.

The trio will be among at least 15 Canadians who will try to become the first home grown player to win the National Open Championship since Pat Fletcher in 1954.

Three more exemptions will be awarded to the Top-3 finishers on PGA Tour Canada's Order of Merit following this weekend's tournament in Thunder Bay while four more players will make the field following the Final Monday Qualifier on July 21st.

Defending champion Brandt Snedeker headlines a strong field which includes Matt Kuchar, Dustin Johnson, Luke Donald, Jim Furyk, Hunter Mahan, Ernie Els, Charl Schwartzel and recent French Open champion Graeme McDowell. The Canadian contingent is led by PGA Tour regulars Graham DeLaet of Weyburn, Sask., David Hearn of Brantford, Ont., Brad Fritsch of Manotick, Ont., Stephen Ames of Calgary, Mike Weir of Bright's Grove, Ont. and Tour winners Adam Hadwin of Abbotsford, B.C. and Roger Sloan of Merrit, B.C.

Report an error Licensing Options

The Globe invites you to share your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful to everyone. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.

We’ve made some technical updates to our commenting software. If you are experiencing any issues posting comments, simply log out and log back in.

Discussion loading… ✨