Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Luke Donald meets Ernie Els in Match Play opener

World number one Luke Donald was drawn on Monday to play triple major winner Ernie Els in the first round of this week's WGC-Accenture Match Play Championship in Marana, Arizona.

Briton Donald is the defending champion, having won last year's trophy in imperious style without reaching the 18th hole in any of his six matches.

Spain's Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano will also meet Tiger Woods in Wednesday's opening round at Dove Mountain while world number two Rory McIlroy launches his campaign against South African George Coetzee.

Story continues below advertisement

Lee Westwood, ranked third, faces Belgian Nicolas Colsaerts and Sergio Garcia takes on fellow Spaniard Miguel Angel Jimenez.

American Bill Haas, winner of Sunday's Northern Trust Open, kicks off with a match against young Japanese Ryo Ishikawa while Dustin Johnson meets U.S. Ryder Cup team mate Jim Furyk.

Tiger Woods, a first round loser a year ago, is pitted against Spaniard Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano in the first round. The winner of that match will go on to face either American Nick Watney or British Open champion Darren Clarke.

Donald will be looking to rediscover his form after slumping to a eight-bogey 78 in the final round of the Northern Trust Open to share 56th place at seven over.

"I certainly have good feelings going back to Dove Mountain," the Englishman told Reuters in an interview on Sunday. "I have a pretty good match play record but you just never know with that format.

"I just try to be pretty good at not giving too many shots away, too many holes away, keeping the pressure on my opponents and taking it one match by one."

Bobby Jones bracket

Story continues below advertisement

Luke Donald (Britain) v Ernie Els (South Africa)

Jason Dufner (USA) v Peter Hanson (Sweden)

K.J. Choi (South Korea) v Kyle Stanley (USA)

Brandt Snedeker (USA) v Retief Goosen (South Africa)

Adam Scott (Australia) v Robert Rock (Britain)

Bo Van Pelt (USA) v Mark Wilson (USA)

Story continues below advertisement

Dustin Johnson (USA) v Jim Furyk (USA)

Thomas Bjorn (Denmark) v Francesco Molinari (Italy)

Gary Player bracket

Rory McIlroy (Britain) v George Coetzee (South Africa)

Kim Kyung-tae (South Korea) v Anders Hansen (Denmark)

Sergio Garcia (Spain) v Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spain)

Keegan Bradley (USA) v Geoff Ogilvy (Australia)

Jason Day (Australia) v Rafael Cabrera-Bello (Spain)

Simon Dyson (Britain) v John Senden (Australia)

Charl Schwartzel (South Africa) v Gary Woodland (USA)

Ian Poulter (Britain) v Bae Sang-moon (South Korea)

Ben Hogan bracket

Martin Kaymer (Germany) v Greg Chalmers (Australia)

David Toms (USA) v Rickie Fowler (USA)

Matt Kuchar (USA) v Jonathan Byrd (USA)

Bubba Watson (USA) v Ben Crane (USA)

Steve Stricker (USA) v Kevin Na (USA)

Louis Oosthuizen (South Africa) v Aaron Baddeley (Australia)

Graeme McDowell (Britain) v Yang Yong-eun (South Korea)

Hunter Mahan (USA) v Zach Johnson (USA)

Sam Snead bracket

Lee Westwood (Britain) v Nicolas Colsaerts (Belgium)

Robert Karlsson (Sweden) v Fredrik Jacobson (Sweden)

Nick Watney (USA) v Darren Clarke (Britain)

Tiger Woods (USA) v Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano (Spain)

Webb Simpson (USA) v Matteo Manassero (Italy)

Alvaro Quiros (Spain) v Martin Laird (Britain)

Bill Haas (USA) v Ryo Ishikawa (Japan)

Justin Rose (Britain) v Paul Lawrie (Britain)

Report an error
As of December 20, 2017, we have temporarily removed commenting from our articles. We hope to have this resolved by the end of January 2018. Thank you for your patience. If you are looking to give feedback on our new site, please send it along to If you want to write a letter to the editor, please forward to